The Weekend Starts Here! - Vol. 2/Slow Popcorn Boppers

12,00 EUR
incl. 19% tax excl. Shipping costs

Strictly limited to 500 copies!
The 2nd volume of the The Weekend Starts Here series deals exclusively with the Popcorn genre.
Popcorn is a style of music and dancing first established in Belgium in the 1970s and 1980s. The style includes a wide variety of mostly American and British recordings of R&B and pop music made between the late 1950s and mid 1960s, often relatively obscure, and characterised by a slow or medium, rather than fast, tempo. The Popcorn music scene first developed from dances held at the Groove discotheque in Ostend, where mid-tempo soul and ska music played by DJ Freddy Cousaert became popular in the late 1960s.
In September 1969, a café, De Oude Hoeve, opened in a converted farm barn at Vrasene near Antwerp, and began holding dance competitions on Sunday afternoons. Soon up to 3,000 people began attending each week, dancing in a "slow swing" style. De Oude Hoeve was later renamed Popcorn and the special genre has it’s name.
Later on the Dj’s messed up a perfectly fine recipe by adding all kinds of pop tunes as long as the tempo was right.
This 10” however features 12 pure Popcorn groovers from the “golden era”.

1. Ann Cole - Each Day
2. Jack Costanzo - Cat Walk
3. Milton Trenier - Gonna Catch Me A Rat
4. Ray Smith - Makes Me Feel Good
5. Nappy Brown - Coal Miner
6. Danny Rivers - Hawk

1. Johnny Copeland - Just One More Time
2. Al Perkins & Betty Bibbs - Homework
3. Eugene Jefferson - Too Young
4. Chuck Bowers - You And I Are In The Same Mood
5. Clarence Daniels - Hard Working Girl
6. Lew Conetta - You  Got Me Crazy Baby

Customers who bought this product bought also the following products:

Monster-O-Rama - Various Artists

Monster-O-Rama - Various Artists

18,00 EUR
Eeny Meeny - Exotic Blues & Rhythm Vol. 12

Eeny Meeny - Exotic Blues & Rhythm Vol. 12

12,00 EUR
Slow Grind Fever - Vol. 7+8 / Even More Adventures In The Sleazy World Of Popcorn Noir...

Slow Grind Fever - Vol. 7+8 / Even More Adventures In The...

12,00 EUR
Loc-A-Li - Exotic Blues & Rhythm Vol. 11

Loc-A-Li - Exotic Blues & Rhythm Vol. 11

12,00 EUR
This product was added to our catalog on Sunday, 10. June 2018.