Music From Planet Earth - Volume 3/Moon Tunes, Signals From Saturn & The Full Martian Experience

Format:
10"
12,00 EUR
incl. 19% tax excl. Shipping costs

Third in a series of three 10”-es!
Each 10” comes with a signed & numbered 24 x 24 cm screenprint of the front cover drawn by well-known artist Marcel Bontempi!


It’s a perennial starting point for conspiracy theories, the perfect excuse for lost homework or any kind of irrational behavior. Alien intervention solves everything. Things from other planets are a sustainable reason to many unanswerable questions and, across the music industry in the late ‘50s and early ‘60s, in the wake of a slew of space-based exploitation movies, a series of 45s and suitably unearthly concept albums emerged to capitalize on this burgeoning, bizarre and mysterious idea.
Everyone was viewing far off planets with wonder, amazement and the occasional well-directed sound effect. No-one really knew what aliens could do, so the potential for music to accompany whatever they did was limitless.
Over 50 years after these sides were released in a fit of futuristic creativity, we’re still asking about the potential of water on Mars, puzzling of the rings of Saturn and wondering if anything really did happen at Roswell. “Aliens stole my dog” screams the headline in the National Enquirer. Of course they did.
Dave Henderson, MOJO magazine, 2017

Tracklisting
Side One: 01 - T Minus Ten; 02 - Rose DuBats - Signals From Saturn; 03 - Dave Diddle Day - Blue Moon Baby; 04 - Jean-Jacques Perrey - In First Orbit; 05 - Les Baxter - The Other Side Of The Moon; 06 - Russ Garcia - Monsters Of Jupiter; 07 - Gale Storm - Dark Moon; 08 - Minus Point Zero Eight
Side Two: 01 - The Girl From Mars; 02 - Butch Paulson - Man From Mars; 03 - Gene Vincent - Spaceship To Mars; 04 - Frosty & The Diamonds - Destination Mars; 05 - Sun Ra Arkestra - The Next Stop Mars (abridged); 06 - Space-Men - Martian Chant; 07 - Marty - Marty On The Planet Mars

Customers who bought this product bought also the following products:

Stomp On It! - A Stag-O-Lee Shakedown/Various Artists

Stomp On It! - A Stag-O-Lee Shakedown/Various Artists

CD
3,00 EUR
Tav Falco's Wild & Exotic World Of Musical Obscurities

Tav Falco's Wild & Exotic World Of Musical Obscurities

2-LP
15,00 EUR
Tav Falco Panther Burns - Sugar Ditch Revisited/Shake... (Deluxe)

Tav Falco Panther Burns - Sugar Ditch Revisited/Shake......

2-LP
12,00 EUR
Katanga! - Exotic Blues & Rhythm Vol. 1 (Clear vinyl)

Katanga! - Exotic Blues & Rhythm Vol. 1 (Clear vinyl)

10"
12,00 EUR
This product was added to our catalog on Monday, 05. March 2018.

Music From Planet Earth - Volume 3/Moon Tunes, Signals From Saturn & The Full Martian Experience

Format:
10"
12,00 EUR
inkl. 19% MwSt. zzgl. Versand

Das 3. Volumen in einer Serie von drei 10”-es! Vinyl only! Limitiert!
Jede 10” kommt mit einem signierten und nummerierten 24 x 24 cm Siebdruck des Frontcovers. Artwork by Marcel Bontempi!

In den späten 50ern und frühen 60ern richteten sich viele Blicke gen Himmel. Man war in der Erwartung einer Invasion von Fremdlingen, nicht wissend, ob es sich um kleine grüne Männchen vom Mars handeln würde oder um außer Kontrolle geratene Roboter. In den USA wurden Filme zum Thema Kassenschlager, die UdSSR schoss 1957 den ersten Sputnik Satelliten in die Erdumlaufbahn und es dauerte nicht lange, da entwickelte sich ein Soundtrack zum Phänomen. Attilio Mineo nahm mit Man In Space And Soundsein bizarres Album zum Thema auf, Joe Meek’s Telstar-Hit fand reichlich Nachahmer, in Frankreich werkelte Jean-Jacques Perrey an extraterrestrischen Sound-Möglichkeiten und Sun Ra And His Arkestra musizierten sowieso auf einem anderen Planeten.

Aber auch Country- und Rockabilly Künstler/Bands hatten eigene Ideen zur Invasion und schrieben Songs zum Thema. Was ja auch offensichtlich war, denn die Raumschiffe würden ganz sicher zuerst irgendwo im Hinterland andocken, die Kühe ausweiden und nachts an die Tür einer einsamen Farm klopfen. Die Strahlenpistole im Anschlag...
50 Jahre nachdem diese Songs in einem Anfall von futuristischer Kreativität aufgenommen wurden, fragen wir uns immer noch, ob es Wasser auf dem Mars gibt, wie viele Ringe der Saturn hat und was damals in Roswell wirklich passiert ist?! “Aliens stole my dog” lautet die Schlagzeile des National Enquirer. Natürlich waren sie es.
Dave Henderson, MOJO magazine, 2017


Tracklisting
Side One: 01 - T Minus Ten; 02 - Rose DuBats - Signals From Saturn; 03 - Dave Diddle Day - Blue Moon Baby; 04 - Jean-Jacques Perrey - In First Orbit; 05 - Les Baxter - The Other Side Of The Moon; 06 - Russ Garcia - Monsters Of Jupiter; 07 - Gale Storm - Dark Moon; 08 - Minus Point Zero Eight
Side Two: 01 - The Girl From Mars; 02 - Butch Paulson - Man From Mars; 03 - Gene Vincent - Spaceship To Mars; 04 - Frosty & The Diamonds - Destination Mars; 05 - Sun Ra Arkestra - The Next Stop Mars (abridged); 06 - Space-Men - Martian Chant; 07 - Marty - Marty On The Planet Mars

Kunden, welche diesen Artikel bestellten, haben auch folgende Artikel gekauft:

Little Victor - Deluxe Lo-Fi

Little Victor - Deluxe Lo-Fi

LP
13,00 EUR
The Weekend Starts Here! - Vol. 2/Slow Popcorn Boppers

The Weekend Starts Here! - Vol. 2/Slow Popcorn Boppers

10"
12,00 EUR
Buzzsaw Joint - Cut 3/Pavinyl

Buzzsaw Joint - Cut 3/Pavinyl

LP
13,00 EUR
Buzzsaw Joint - Cut 4/Juke Joint

Buzzsaw Joint - Cut 4/Juke Joint

LP
13,00 EUR
Diesen Artikel haben wir am Montag, 05. März 2018 in den Shop aufgenommen.